H-Factor Where Is Your Heart


Happiness and Creating a Happy Life by Lisa Cypers Kamen of What is Your Happiness

By Lisa Cypers Kamen, Harvesting Happiness

 

One of the things I have noticed is that the busier I get, the more I get done and often the less fulfilled and happy I feel on a daily basis.  Why is that?  I think in the current days of to do lists, iPhones and Blackberries, streaming video, wifi hot spots we are inundated with choices, real-time news opportunities and just plain stuff.  This can put us on a media treadmill that makes it very hard to disconnect and when we don’t disconnect we can travel very far from ourselves and create a life that ultimately does not serve us what we want or need.

 

One of the techniques that I find very helpful is immediately upon waking is that I first list in my head all that I am grateful for.  This moves me and my spirit into a place that feels divine.  Then I consciously choose to identify those things that are most important to me.  This is often my friends, my family, my needs, my career and my mission in life which is to increase the level of happiness in the world.

 

From there I make my priority to do list.  This is the list of items that must be done by me in the following hours to increase my overall level of satisfaction in my life.  Laundry is not on that list. Neither is picking up eggs and fruit at the market.  Do those things need to get done? Absolutely.  Do they increase my level of happiness? Not really unless I am hungry for an omelets or a smoothie.

 

Identifying those things that really serve us is the key to a happy life.   Hugging my daughter. Telling my son I am proud of him.  Calling my mother or father to say hello.  Writing a blog that I hope will lift up the person reading it. These are the items that make me feel happy.

 

And before my phone starts ringing, the emails pour in and the demands of the day from herding children off to school to preparing for my radio show get in the way, I need to makes sure I am fitting in the things that are really important to me.

 

Independent filmmaker, author, happiness coach and speaker Lisa Cypers Kamen creates these blogs to entertain, enlighten and educate us as we each undertake our own personal search for happiness. Happiness is an Inside Job. To contact Lisa, email her directly at lisa@whatisyourhappiness.com and check out her websites at www.whatisyourhappiness.com , www.harvestinghappiness.com  , and www.hh4heroes.org   and listen to her on  www.harvestinghappinesstalkradio.com or download her show at  www.itunes.com.

Harvesting Happiness with Lisa Cypers Kamen brings to the airwaves a fresh talk radio approach promoting happiness, well-being and global human flourishing by presenting a diverse and proactive collection of the greatest thinkers and doers who have devoted their lives to creating a better world in which to live. She is an expert in creating happiness, finding pathways to happiness, and building a happiness formula in her happiness workshops. If you are looking for how to become a happier person, tune in weekly at www.toginet.com Wednesday’s at 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm EST.

Harvesting Happiness for Heroes is a pending 501(c)(3), non-profit corporation. Our mission objective is to offer support services to Warriors and Warrior families challenged by Combat Trauma, PTSD and post-deployment reintegration issues.  We offer Battle Buddy workshops, family awareness training, online community support, one-on-one coaching services, as well as retreats for Warriors to decompress from battle and understand the tools available for them to adapt their military skills to civilian society.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

