H-Factor Where Is Your Heart


WHAT IS YOUR HAPPINESS? HAPPINESS & MEDITATION BY LISA CYPERS KAMEN

By Lisa Cypers Kamen, Harvesting Happiness

It is a remarkable fact that happiness can be generated from within, either in formal meditation or by informal “thought focusing” while going about the business of daily living. What I found was that by focusing on appreciation, or gratitude, or forgiveness, I would first experience a welling up of powerful, positive emotional forces. Continued focus on those feelings would amplify them over and over, until they swelled into a crescendo of bliss, experienced as a joyful love of the universe and all it contains.

In one process, I focused on appreciation. I appreciated the gifts of nature: clouds, green trees, and flowers. I appreciated the life I had, the peace around me, the opportunities I enjoyed. In another process, I focused on gratitude. I felt gratitude for the life-giving sun, for the oxygen-producing trees, for the gift of sight and the mobility of my body. A third process had me focusing on forgiveness — forgiveness for others, forgiveness from others, forgiveness for myself. In point of fact, it was the first time in my life I had ever experienced forgiveness.

As powerful as the feelings were, however, on each occasion they dissipated. It was rather disheartening. I mean, there I was — enlightened! And now it was gone. Worse, I had no idea what made it go away. Partly, of course, it was the difficulty of maintaining that strong focus over such a long period of time. But in retrospect, I am convinced that “the trap of the intellect” more than anything else caused my “fall from grace.”

The above was taken directly from www.treelight.com/essays/meditationAndHappiness.html

Independent filmmaker, author, happiness coach and speaker Lisa Cypers Kamen creates these blogs to entertain, enlighten and educate us as we each undertake our own personal search for happiness and shares them with http://www.motherhoodincorporated.  Happiness is an Inside Job. To contact Lisa, email her directly at lisa@whatisyourhappiness.com and check out her websites at www.whatisyourhappiness.com & www.harvestinghappiness.com and listen to her on http://toginet.com/shows/harvestinghappiness or download her show at www.itunes.com.

Harvesting Happiness with Lisa Cypers Kamen brings to the airwaves a fresh talk radio approach promoting happiness, well-being and global human flourishing by presenting a diverse and proactive collection of the greatest thinkers and doers who have devoted their lives to creating a better world in which to live.

Weekly on www.toginet.com Wednesday’s at 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm EST

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

